Clay Shirky


Clay Shirky: How cognitive surplus will change the world

I’d watched this talk ages ago and it had lain in the back of my mind, resurfacing from time to time, but the details frustratingly forgotten.

Not matter what Google-fu I tried, I couldn’t conjure it back out of the interwebz. I began to suspect I’d misremembered it.

But today I rediscovered it. And it’s the manner of the rediscovery that’s interesting.

I wanted to include a video by Douglas Rushkoff, on his book Program or Be Programmed, in some material for year 8 students thinking about their transition into year 9.

 

The video supports a book.

Rushkoff’s website for the book links to Amazon to purchase.

The Amazon page had a section for ‘People that bought this also bought…’

In that section was a link to Cognitive Surplus: How Technology Makes Consumers into Collaborators by Clay Shirky.

The link to Cognitive Surplus triggered a bunch of neurons and a quick search for ‘Cognitive Surplus Clay Shirky’ landed me on the long forgotten TED.com page.

Sweet.

Leave a Reply

